UML, Maoist Center forge consensus on power sharing in Koshi

Himal Press 17 May 2024
UML, Maoist Center forge consensus on power sharing in Koshi

ITAHARI: Koshi Province Chief Minister Hikmatkumar Karki has forged a consensus on the sharing of ministerial portfolios among coalition partners.

As per the understanding reached with the CPN (Maoist Center) on Friday, the UML will have six members in the Koshi cabinet, including the chief minister, while the Maoist Center will have four.

According to the Office of the Chief Minister and Council of Ministers, Ekaraj Karki, Lil Ballav Adhikari, and Pancha Karna Rai will become ministers from the UML in Koshi, while Srijana Rai will become minister of state.

Similarly, the Maoist Center will join the Koshi cabinet under the leadership of Rajendra Karki. Narayan Bahadur Magar will become a minister, while Bandana Jhagar will become a minister of state.

Chief Minister Karki had earlier appointed the UML’s Ram Bahadur Magar and the Maoist Center’s Ganesh Upreti to his cabinet.

Koshi Cabinet

1. Hikmat Kumar Karki, Chief Minister and Minister for Agriculture, Industry and Cooperatives
2. Ram Bahadur Magar, Minister of Economic Affairs and Planning
3. Rajendra Karki, Minister of Health
4. Pancha Karna Rai, Minister for Social Development
5. Ekraj Karki, Minister for Energy, Irrigation and Drinking Water
6. Ganesh Upreti, Minister for Physical Infrastructure Development
7. Narayan Bahadur Magar, Minister for Tourism, Forests and Environment
8. Lila Ballav Adhikari, Minister for Internal Affairs and Law
9. Srijana Rai, Minister of State for the Office of the Chief Minister  and Council of Ministers
10. Bandana Jhagad, Minister of State for Tourism, Forests and Environment

Published On: 17 May 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *