Sudurpashchim Chief Minister Sodari wins trust vote

Himal Press 16 May 2024
Sudurpashchim Chief Minister Sodari wins trust vote

KATHMANDU: Sudurpaschim Chief Minister Dirgha Sodari has secured a vote of confidence from the Sudurpaschim Province Assembly.

Twenty-eight assembly members voted in favor of the motion of vote of confidence tabled by the CPN (Unified Socialist) leader. Eleven members of the CPN-UML, 10 of the CPN (Maoist Center), four of the Unified Socialist, two of the Nagarik Unmukti Party, and an independent member supported the motion.

However, 19 members of the Nepali Congress and five members of the Nagarik Unmukti Party boycotted the voting.

While Nagarik Unmukti’s assembly members close to party Chairperson Ranjita Shrestha supported the motion, those, who belong to the faction led by party patron Resham Lal Chaudhary didn’t participate in the voting.

The UML, which was initially against giving a vote of confidence to Bhatta, made a U-turn and decided on Wednesday that it would support Sodari’s government. It, however, has said that it won’t join the provincial government.

Published On: 16 May 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *