Koshi: Chief Minister Karki, two ministers sworn in

Himal Press 09 May 2024
Koshi: Chief Minister Karki, two ministers sworn in

ITAHARI: Newly-appointed Chief Minister of Koshi Province, Hikmat Kumari Karki, was sworn in amid a ceremony on Thursday.

Province Chief Parshu Ram Khapung administered the oath of office and secrecy to Chief Minister Karki and two ministers – Ram Bahadur Rana of CPN-UML and Ganesh Upreti of CPN (Maoist Center). The two ministers have not been assigned portfolios yet.

Province Chief Khapung appointed Karki, the parliamentary leader of UML in the Koshi Province Assembly, as per Article 168 (5) of the Constitution of Nepal, 2015, earlier on Thursday.

Karki submitted his claim to form the government on Thursday morning with the support of 52 assembly members – 39 from UML and 13 from the Maoist Center. He will now need to secure a vote of confidence in the province assembly within 30 days.

Published On: 09 May 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *