Janardan Sharma writes note of dissent on Maoist Center’s decisions

Himal Press 28 Feb 2024
Janardan Sharma writes note of dissent on Maoist Center’s decisions File Photo

KATHMANDU: Deputy General Secretary of CPN (Maoist Center), Janardan Sharma, has penned a note of dissent regarding the party’s decision to appoint in-charges and joint in-charges for different provinces.

Maoist Center Spokesperson Agni Prasad Sapkota stated that Sharma submitted a written dissent to Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal. “We will provide more details about it later on,” Sapkota added.

Speaking to the media after the standing committee meeting on Wednesday, Sharma criticized the allocation of responsibilities, stating that the division of work was conducted incorrectly. “It was a hangover from the party’s statute convention. It was not intended to strengthen the party,” Sharma remarked.

Sharma expressed dissatisfaction with the appointment of central committee members as joint in-charges, bypassing standing committee members. “I have informed the party leadership that the decisions made to address dissent were not fair and equitable,” he remarked. “The Chairman informed me that dissenting views are welcome within the party.”

Earlier, the standing committee appointed Haribol Gajurel and Savitri Kumar Kafle as the in-charge and joint in-charge of Koshi Province, respectively. Similarly, Leelamani Pokharel was appointed as the in-charge of Madhesh Province, with Bishwanath Sah named as the joint in-charge.

Party spokesperson Sapkota was designated as the in-charge of Bagmati Province, while the joint in-charge position remains vacant. Additionally, Dinanath Sharma and Hari Raj Adhikari were appointed as in-charge and joint in-charge, respectively, of Gandaki Province.

The Maoist Center nominated Chakrapani Khanal and Kul Prasad KC as in-charge and joint in-charge of Lumbini Province, while Kali Bahadur Malla and Giriraj Mani Pokhare were named as in-charge of Karnali and Sudurpashchim provinces, respectively. Bina Manag was appointed as joint in-charge of Sudurpashchim Province.

Similarly, Pampha Bhusal was appointed as in-charge of Diaspora (Middle East), with Laxman Pant and TB Pathak named as in-charge and joint in-charge, respectively, of Diaspora (India). Surendra Kumar Karki was designated as in-charge of Diaspora (Europe, US, and others).

Likewise, Hitman Shakya and Yashoda Subedi were named as in-charge and joint in-charge, respectively, of the Special Province Committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *