UML exits Bagmati province government

Himal Press 08 Jul 2024
UML exits Bagmati province government

KATHMANDU: CPN-UML has exited the Bagmati Province government.

All five ministers of the party in the province government tendered their resignations to Chief Minister Shalik Ram Jamkattel on Monday. Jagannath Thapaliya, Keshav Prasad Pokharel, Eka Lal Shrestha, Rameshwar Shrestha and Prakash Shrestha were in Jamkattel’s cabinet from UML.

With this, Jamkattel’s government has fallen into uncertainty. As per the Constitution of Nepal, 2015, he will now have to undergo a floor test within 30 days.

CPN-UML ministers had already stepped down from the Sudurpashchim and Lumbini province governments earlier. This follows an agreement that UML has signed with Nepali Congress (NC) to form a new coalition government in the center.

The two parties have also reached an understanding to form provincial governments. As per the understanding, NC will form governments in Bagmati, Gandaki, and Sudurpashchim provinces, while UML will lead governments in Koshi, Lumbini, and Karnali provinces.

The two parties on Saturday supported Janamat Party to form government in Madhesh Province.

Published On: 08 Jul 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *