Lumbini electing thematic committee chairs on Wednesday

Binod Pariyar 15 Apr 2024
Lumbini electing thematic committee chairs on Wednesday Lumbini Province Assembly (File Photo)

LUMBINI: The thematic committees of the Lumbini Province Assembly are finally being formed – nearly 17 months since the provincial assembly elections.

The Lumbini Province Assembly Secretariat on Monday published a notice for the election of chairpersons of the parliamentary committees as per the Lumbini Provincial Assembly Rules, 2023. As per the notice, interested candidates will have to file their nominations by 5 pm on Tuesday, while voting will be held at 8 am on Wednesday.

The election program was published after parties in the provincial assembly forged an understanding on the sharing of House committees. As per the understanding, CPN-UML will get the leadership of the Committee of Privileges as well as the Finance, Industry and Tourism, and Physical Infrastructure committees. Likewise, CPN (Maoist Center) will get Social Development, and Provincial Affairs and Law committees, while NC will get Public Accounts and Agriculture committees.

The ruling alliance partners will also finalize ministers in Chief Minister Jokh Bahadur Mahara’s cabinet after the election for the chairpersons of the House committees.

Outgoing Chief Minister Dilli Bahadur Chaudhary had made attempts to form the House committees. However, his efforts failed as consensus eluded political parties.

Speaker Tula Ram Ghimire had announced the names of members in the thematic committees in mid-July last year. However, parties couldn’t reach a consensus to elect chairpersons at that time.

Published On: 15 Apr 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *