Jamkattel wins third vote of confidence in 15 months

Himal Press 01 Apr 2024
Jamkattel wins third vote of confidence in 15 months Bagmati Chief Minister Shalikram Jamkattel

KATHMANDU: Bagmati Province Chief Minister Shalikram Jamkattel has received a vote of confidence in the Bagmati Province Assembly.

In the voting held on Monday, 56 assembly members voted for Jamkattel, while 37 voted against him, and 15 abstained.

The Bagmati Province Assembly has 110 members. Jamkattel needed the support of at least 56 members to pass the floor test.

Province assembly members of CPN (Maoist Center), CPN-UML, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Hamro Nepal Party (HNP) voted for Jamkattel. One member of HNP, Sarita Khadgi, was not present during the voting. While province assembly members of Nepali Congress voted against Jamkattel, members of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party abstained.

The CPN (Maoist Center) leader underwent the floor test after the Nepali Congress (NC) withdrew support extended to him following the formation of the new ruling alliance in the center.

This is the third floor test that Jamkattel has undergone since the November 2022 polls.

Published On: 01 Apr 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *